S2 Makes – Need A Last Minute (and Fast!) Valentine’s Day Card?

Sunday is Valentine’s Day – one of my favorite holidays. For many, a holiday that some would label “stupid” or “it sucks!” or “another Hallmark holiday!” – and one that they’ll blow off or watch, as I did one year with a good friend, “The Valentine’s Day Massacre” on the History Channel, about an infamous mafia murder in Chicago, while eating Sloppy Joe’s and drinking wine.

I tend to find Valentine’s Day a holiday of beauty. Well, once you get rid of the notion that it is about gifts and ridiculous expectations. It’s a day for expressing love and that expression can be anything. School children give out cute cards and treats. In my world, I give out CD’s called Love Mixes to my girlfriends. (I’ve written about them in the past on this blog.) For individuals in relationships, they may give big gifts such a jewelry, or expensive flowers, or lingerie, or cars. I don’t know. My extent of relationship Valentine’s Day gifts have always involved cooked meals and hugs, which is why I err on the cute and sincere end of the giving spectrum.  Although, as a teenager, I did receive a single rose each year from my Dad – he would have it delivered while he was out on the road driving a truck. It always made me feel special, but it was really the feeling of being loved and remembered from the greatest male role model of my life, who was away.

You can say that my expectations for Valentine’s Day are not that great. And they aren’t, but they do include time and sincerity. Only give me what you truly want to give, and hopefully it involves food cooked at home, time, laughter, hugs and dancing. Everything else does not matter. Mind you these are all things that I do for myself, so they’re not really expectations or gifts, they are simply things that make me smile and feel happy.

I can still remember my first Valentine’s Day in NYC – walking through Times Square Station and seeing the endless sea of red – coats, hats, gloves, bags – worn by New Yorkers commuting. That filled my heart, and still does, in a way that gifts cannot. If thousands of people in NYC (often labeled the rudest and most unfriendly) can get together as individuals to show love in a grand way, then we can show love in small ways to people we love and strangers this one designated day a year and it can be as simple as wearing the color red to spread cheer.  Mind you, this is something we should incorporate every day, but that is a conversation for a different day.

While I’m not the biggest gift fan, I am a fan of love notes and letters and cards and therefore will tell you now that if you do show up to your loved one in all red with doughnuts do bring along a card. It doesn’t have to be great. It need not cost $10, nor  sparkle. It doesn’t have to have anything in it aside from your lovely words of love. All your card need do is express your feelings, validate you spending your day and time together and be sincere and this applies to romantic partners, children, parents, etc.

In preparation for this holiday, and what I call Love Month, I put together a video for the Etsy Team in NY that I’m a member of and think it’s worth sharing with you guys. It’s a five minute video tutorial showing you how to make a pop-up heart card for Valentine’s Day. Materials are simple and the cards take not even three minutes to make. It is the fastest Valentine’s Day card you’ll make for your loved one and as I share in the video, it is also the most heartfelt.

If you do make one of these cards, I hope your loved one, or the person on the receiving end loves it. I hope they reward you with a hug and smile and kiss. I hope you feel good for doing something so small and sincere. I hope your heart is full this Valentine’s Day.

Oh, and for those curious about this year’s Love Mix. Here’s a freebie for you via a Spotify playlist – “Love is Water – Love Mix 2016” – Enjoy!

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Published by

s2 stationery & designs

A rule-breaking designer, artist & entrepreneur who's passionate about paper and handcrafting stationery. I also write, travel, and focus on eco + social good.

Share your differences

