Chicken is Just Chicken or Really Good Pricing Wisdom

I’m currently sitting at my part-time/full-time gig smiling. I’ve taken a job (because lady was not making enough money on my own) to get situated for the time being that has me working in a warehouse. I’m the office manager of sorts – I answer the phone, enter orders and other customer service like things.

Anyhow, there is this jolly fellow that I share my space with. He’s older and Scottish and a hoot, most of the time.

Today, as he was getting ready to leave, he overheard a conversation I had with a potential new customer. He asked me for the name of the customer and looked them up on line. He then turned to me and said:

“You can always tell whether a customer is a good match for our business based on the price of their chicken dishes. Anyone can have fancy dishes on their menu, but chicken is just chicken, and it doesn’t matter how they do it (roasted, fried, etc). If they’re selling that dish for $18 they’re not doing well. If they’re selling that dish for $28, they are doing well and have money to spend. Those are our customers.”

I smiled as I listened to him, and well, the wheels are turning in my head…what an interesting way to determine your target market.  I’m taking this gem with me as I fix up S2 strategy for 2015.

Published by

s2 stationery & designs

A rule-breaking designer, artist & entrepreneur who's passionate about paper and handcrafting stationery. I also write, travel, and focus on eco + social good.

Share your differences

