Decorating Your Thanksgiving Table with S2 Stationery & Design Paper Products

I’m sure you’ve noticed that I don’t really talk about my work on this blog. I don’t put collections of my stationery together to showcase. I’m not sure why. It’s not that I don’t want to share what I create, it’s that I’d much rather write 900+ words about my emotions. Or share the brutally honest ups and downs of being an entrepreneur struggling to balance passions, life, work, and everything else that comes my way.

Today, I’m changing that.  Today, I’m going to post three products of mine that I love just in time for the upcoming Thanksgiving holiday. I realize this is too late for potential orders on these items, but if I were hosting Thanksgiving in my home, I’d definitely decorate my table using these items!

“My Thankful Space” Paper Place Mats available in White and Silver, and Red and Blue with Gold Paper

il_570xN.280012758

il_570xN.280012788

Gobble Gobble Thanksgiving Mini Cards

il_570xN.277898741
Giving Thanks Thanksgiving Mini Cards

il_570xN.277979518

You could combine either of the mini cards with the paper place mats, although, I think the “Giving Thanks” mini cards are more aligned with the elegant feel of the paper place mats, or you could do one or the other. A few years ago, a customer and friend used the mini cards to decorate her Thanksgiving table. I thought she used them well and they were just the perfect touch of elegance to her rustic decor.

The paper that makes the base of the place mat is a paper from China that has grooves to make it look like a basket weave textured paper. I spent so much money on the paper and bought so many sheets of it because I thought they were going to fly off the shelves! Now, please note, I don’t have a brick and mortar store with shelves for them to fly off of and I make each by hand when ordered.  Anyhow, they are available in a white and silver combination and a gold and red and gold and blue combination.  I realize that for some these may not be their chosen colors for their table, but if they were, these would be perfect.

The idea behind these place mats is really simple. I wanted a host/ess to be able to give her guests something more than just dinner. Something they would be able to take away with them after supper. I also think it would be an amazing if before everyone sat down to lunch or dinner, or whatever, they would sit down to a table with these place mats and jot down what they are thankful for and then share just before they start eating and after saying prayers, if they are a family that gives thanks.

I know that the place mats are not a novel idea. There is a fabulous company that produces paper place mats already and they can be customized, too, but these place mats are different in the quality and the texture. While I totally get that some people will say, I’m not spending that kind of money on something that food is going to fall on and get tossed, my response is, you are missing the point completely. With these place mats, I’m doing the following:

  • trying to create a tradition of thanks, but interaction aside from eating;
  • ease of whatever family drama may occur around the table and day in your home, and most importantly;
  • a moment of reflection and a way to create a tangible keepsake

Now about those mini cards…well, they are just fun. They can be used to write a message to your guests, or as seating cards. They are so small that really you can’t do much with them, but they are a perfect little touch to any table.

Something else of note on the mini cards is that they were designed quickly after a co-worker was going to throw out an Avery package of blank badges she no longer needed. I told her, “WAIT! I’ll use them for something!”  She gave them to me and I sat working on that little turkey and designing these cards that dressed up a Thanksgiving table. The lesson here – there’s always another way to give paper a new life.

And with that, I wish you all an early Happy Thanksgiving! I will be posting again before the holiday, but I wanted to share some work that I’m thankful for having created with all of you.

Oh, and before I forget, the Montclair Pop-Up Shop is officially open as of today! I am so excited, not to mention the shop has been giving me so much love via the social media world. You can find our opening celebration tonight, as well as some of my Thanksgiving Mini Cards for sale at 102 Walnut Street, Montclair, New Jersey 07042.

I’ll be dropping by to see everything in action. I doubt that many of my readers will be able to stop by, but if you can, you should. If you can’t, then visit the Montclair Pop-Up Shop’s Facebook Page and give it some love!

And now, for real, I’m signing off on this Thanksgiving post. If you want to share how you are decorating your table this Thanksgiving, please leave a comment. If you want to share your thoughts on paper place mats, you can do that, too!  I’d love to hear your shares and thoughts.

Published by

s2 stationery & designs

A rule-breaking designer, artist & entrepreneur who's passionate about paper and handcrafting stationery. I also write, travel, and focus on eco + social good.

2 thoughts on “Decorating Your Thanksgiving Table with S2 Stationery & Design Paper Products”

Share your differences

