Dancing on the Streets of Echizen

Um, yeah. I am that girl.

The one who sings and dances on the street randomly and looks like she’s crazy and potentially homeless (which I am, by the way to both- crazy AND homeless).

Anyhow, to the point…the streets of Echizen are dark. Some might say frighteningly so and yet that has not stopped me from walking two hours on the side of a dark highway along side rice patties and steaming mountains (yes, the mountains steam here!).  This also hasn’t stopped me from walking in general. I have to walk to get to the house I’m staying at and while I attempt to walk quickly, I am walking up hill and there is the chance that a bear or wild boar may come out and eat me. Yet, I walk.

My first night walk there was no moon or stars and I was a bit uncertain about my choice to come to a town that has no moon. I mean really, I live by the light of the moon and here I am with no moon! A few days later, like one day later, the moon appeared and I was ever oh, so grateful.

That first night, I also danced up the hill to my guest home. By dance, I mean I shook my butt as I walked up the hill. I was listening to “Call Me Maybe” by Carly Rae Jepsen, and when I got to the top of the hill, I did a full on dance when I got to the top of the hill and giggled the entire time.  Seriously, this song makes me think I’m 10 all over again!

I’m not sure if any of the residents whose homes face the hill saw me out of their windows and thought something of the strange girl dancing on the hill, but I danced any way.

The second night I danced on the hill, I was listening to a song by Matt and Kim and my friend Rosie popped into my head and I danced and laughed and sang, rather loudly, I should add, to the song as I climbed and reached the top of the hill. It was exhilarating.

Last night, while walking to a stationery store to find colored pencils, I sang out loud and danced a la swaying my hips and throwing up my hands and arms to “Love Will Never Do (Without You)” by Janet Jackson. Something about that song makes me think back to my youth dancing around thinking that Janet Jackson was amazing. Lets be honest, she was and Rhythm Nation is one of the best albums of that time.

I realized as I danced my way to the store in the dark, that the people driving past me to the super market and the restaurants and the gas stations did probably think I was a strange bird and I was okay with it. Because I haven’t really danced like I’m dancing on these streets in three months. These dances while silly and a bit crazed, are dances that my soul needs, much like the long hours of sleep I’m getting each night.

Last night, it was drizzling as I danced my way to the store and it didn’t bother me a minute. I’ve always enjoyed doing things in the rain-running, walking, dancing, etc. I’ve always said that I’d love to participate in a rain dance with a tribe of Native Americans. I realize that they dance to bring the rain, not in the rain, but in my mind we’d dance for the rain and in the rain and it would be a beautiful thing.

I’m hoping that one of these days someone sees me dancing in the rain and joins me. I think I could really use a dancing foolish partner before I leave Echizen. We’ll see if it happens. For now, I’m just so happy to be dancing openly and with laughter on the dark streets of Echizen.

Published by

s2 stationery & designs

A rule-breaking designer, artist & entrepreneur who's passionate about paper and handcrafting stationery. I also write, travel, and focus on eco + social good.

Share your differences

