$1110 Raised So Far and a List of Thank Yous

Just this past Monday, I launched a campaign on Indiegogo called S2 Learns Paper Making in Asia. It’s an ambitious campaign, as I’m hoping to raise $5K to help my trip along. The more money I raise, even better! But let me not get too hasty here.

Putting up a campaign puts me in an interesting position, one that is not novel, because I’ve fundraised before, but nonetheless, a more personal position – fundraising for my own education. In the past, I’ve fundraised for cancer research and have put myself on the line in doing so. I’ve run 26.2 miles + all the additional miles to train for each marathon to complete the races. No small feat, I know, but still, an overwhelming experience and one where friends and family who put their faith in me could in addition to supporting me and families and individuals in need, at the very least write their donations off as a tax exemption.

This time, those donations don’t have a tax write off. The people, my friends, amazing, amazing, friends, who have donated thus far and who have promised to donate in the future, have made donations based on their belief in me. Yes, this is similar to donating to a marathon cause, but this is a bit different…so much could go wrong while I’m traveling and yet I’m banking on so much not going wrong, just so much going right. We’ll call that my infinite and boundless optimism shining through. And we’re going to keep it that way, too. See, I just have this incredible feeling about everything working out as it should. And I mean everything. I feel like I’ll get on the plane, land in Istanbul, relax and unwind and make some plans about life and business while enjoying as much of Istanbul as I can and then move forward. Forward being paper making in Japan.

Anyhow, in the last five days, I’ve raised 1110.00! That’s incredible! It’s an average of $222 per day. Of course the first day left me amazed. I heard from a friend that I hadn’t heard from in years and it was such a breath of fresh air to hear from her and to know that she’s out there, alive, well and supporting me in her own way, even without every day, or annual communication for that matter. Seriously, my mind was blown by her generosity and her support. Not only did she donate, she spread the word, she reached out to me and gave me one of the best compliments I’ve received in a long time…that she hopes to teach her kids to have the same amount of courage as I do. The best thing about her compliment is that I have always seen her as one of my greatest inspirations. It’s nice to know that I’m one of her’s now.

With out much further ado, I want to share (minus their full last names) the names of those who have given so generously in my first week. I am ecstatic to have them as friends and to have their support. I could not do this without them. Not one bit. I can’t wait to add more names to the list!

Elisa B
Jordana T
Larissa H
Peter V
Dawn O
Emily W
Cassandra R
Lilian D. A
Jason K
Laura S
Mary G
Nicole C
Anonymous
Michelle B

14 amazing, amazing people who believe in me and want me to follow my dream. Thank you! A future stationery set from Japan doesn’t even begin to express how much my heart feels knowing that you’re all believing in me.

If you’re interested in donating, please visit my campaign. Please spread the word. Please send me kind words of encouragement. 27 days left.

Thank you so very much!

More soon!

Sara

Published by

s2 stationery & designs

A rule-breaking designer, artist & entrepreneur who's passionate about paper and handcrafting stationery. I also write, travel, and focus on eco + social good.

Share your differences

