S2 Learns Paper Making in Asia

Hi Friends!

Happy Labor Day! I hope this email finds you all well, happy, and healthy!

Today, I’m writing about an adventure more important than an endurance event, my three month plus trek to Asia to study paper making. For those of you who aren’t already aware, in 2009, while finishing my travels in Italy, after completing the Rome Marathon and the death of my father, I had a dream that inspired me to start my stationery and design company, S2 Stationery and Design. The dream was followed by signs along the way, with the ultimate sign being an image of a tree with the saying, “le papier c’est la vie” while waiting to change trains to Paris. I still have that piece of paper, as it has more meaning that any of the other signs I have been given in my life.

My friends, so many of YOU, have been incredibly supportive and encouraging these past three years. Many of you have purchased stationery from me, or have come to me for projects that have left me humbled.

When I started S2 Stationery and Design, my original goal was to be as eco-friendly as possible. To use paper with high recycled percentages and from upcycled fibers. The more I worked with paper and different paper companies, I realized that they just weren’t cutting it for me. While some papers from bamboo and cotton are awesome, their process of being made may not. It made me wonder about the process of taking a tree from a lumber farms and the process to make it a single sheet of paper that we use every day regardless of it’s form. As I began to do research, the more I got involved in looking at handmade papers and a lot of my projects took on inspiration from those papers. Handmade papers from countries like Thailand, Nepal, India, Japan, Vietnam, and even China have woven their way into my heart and now I’m set to learn. Which is where you guys come in.

I am using all my savings and investments to make this trip happen over the next three months. If I can raise a bit more money (see my indiegogo campaign) then I will take myself beyond Japan to South East Asia to paper making communities in Thailand, Indonesia, Vietnam, Philippines, and Cambodia to learn from their paper artists as well. I don’t have a return flight yet, but that’s because if in January, I leave Japan and head to South East Asia, I won’t be back until April or May.

As of now, my itinerary (and my money) is for Japan. I am leaving New York on October 1, 2012 and flying to Istanbul, Turkey to visit a friend before heading to Japan. I will arrive in Tokyo, Japan on October 10th and will spend a few days with one of my best friends in the entire world. On the 15th, I will travel West to a town named Echizen, which has a rich paper history and a washi paper museum to boot. I will be working with a paper artist, Rina, who helps coordinate and manage the museum, who has had her paper art displayed in cities around Europe. We have already discussed collaboration and have shared our excitement to work together. From Rina, I will learn paper making, Japanese and art and from me, she will learn marketing tips for the museum, English, and anything else I can share. Rina has also asked me to teach a week’s worth of classes in December while she travels to Nepal to work with an artist there (Jealous! Nepal is on my list of eventual countries to get to to study paper making.)

This may be one of the best experiences of my life, but I won’t be able to do it without your help, support and encouragement. As you know, I am a huge believed that my life is enriched by each of you. Every minute of contact I’ve had with you has helped make me who I am, as much as my parents, grandparents, siblings, and family members. Every step of 26.2 miles that I took in each marathon, I carried all of you with me. Not just those that donated to the cause, but those who lent encouragement and support. All of those, who stood outside along the road with signs, or even just sent a mention on facebook the morning of my race. It is all those moments that really matter.

If you can’t donate to this endeavor, then I ask that you spread the word and send me some kind words. I’m not sure what my connection will be while in Japan. I plan to disconnect as much as possible, while also updating my blog regularly and sending short email updates of where I am and where your donations and support have gotten me at that point.

My campaign on Indiegogo, S2 Learns Paper Making in Asia has a video of me (ugh, a video!), providing the same details that this email has, but a way for you to contribute along with a list of items you’ll receive when you do donate. They will come from Japan and everyone who donates will get an email from me letting you know that they are being mailed out to you and your home.

This trip is very much about my development growth for my business and my passion, but it’s also a journey that you will come along with for the next three or more months. I will be as open as you know me to be every step of the way.
Thank you!

Published by

s2 stationery & designs

A rule-breaking designer, artist & entrepreneur who's passionate about paper and handcrafting stationery. I also write, travel, and focus on eco + social good.

One thought on “S2 Learns Paper Making in Asia”

Share your differences

