S2 Gets Around This Summer! Brooklyn Flea Dates in June!

Sunday afternoon, I announced that I would be participating in the upcoming (5 days!) Crafts in Chelsea outdoor market and festival on Saturday, May 19th from 11-4.

And then I found out, a few hours later that I’ll be a vendor two weekends in June at Brooklyn Flea, one day at the Fort Greene location and one day at the Williamsburg location. I am stoked!

Fort Greene Flea – Saturday, JUNE 23, 2012
10am-5pm, Rain or Shine
176 Lafayette Ave. (btw. Clermont + Vanderbilt Ave.)

Williamsburg Flea – Sunday, JUNE 3, 2012
10am-5pm, Rain or Shine
East River Waterfront (btw. North 6 + 7 St.)

Brooklyn Flea is sort of a big deal:

“Founded in April 2008, Brooklyn Flea has grown into one of New York City’s top attractions, operating flea markets every weekend of the year that feature hundreds of top vendors of antique and repurposed furniture, vintage clothing, collectibles and antiques, as well as a tightly curated selection of jewelry, art, and crafts by local artisans and designers, plus delicious fresh food. The New York Times called the Flea “One of the great urban experiences in New York”; Travel + Leisure, Country Living, Budget Travel, and Fodor’s have ranked the Flea one of the best markets or antiques shows in the U.S. and the world; and Time Out NY named the Flea one of New York’s Essential Pick-Up Spots.” (Brooklyn Flea Website)

I was able to get my spots thanks to the awesome help and coordination of my Etsy Team, Etsy NY (formerly The {NewNew}) and really can not wait. I’m going to use them as an opportunity to showcase a new project I’m collaborating with another team mate on – DETAILS SOON! – and am very excited about. As a matter of fact, we’re in talks about how to go about selling them and getting samples and some orders in before June when I’m at Brooklyn Flea and she’s at Renegade.

The other reason why I’m stoked is because this means I’m taking another BIG risk. I don’t know that I’m ready for Brooklyn Flea, word on the street is it can be a bit snooty sometimes, but I know that I’m ready to take the chance and see if I can hack it and make an impression in Brooklyn.  By the way, I don’t have display supplies. I mean, I do, but I don’t. Just goes to show how “prepared” I am.

And yet, even in that, I’m excited! Can you tell I’m excited?

I see this the same way I saw Celebrate Brooklyn last year. I have merchandise. I have some new products. I have excitement. I have the hunger. It’s going to be great. I’ll post a recap after each event, and one about the results for both weekends afterward. So stay tuned.

Until then, you should definitely consider saving the dates of June 3 and June 23 and come out and lend some support, and spread the word to your friends, family, and/or anyone else you want to share with or you know, to buy some good, handmade stationery by your favorite stationer, me, Sara!

Hope to see you! If you’ve sold or bought at Brooklyn Flea below and want to add some advice, or comments, please do!

Published by

s2 stationery & designs

A rule-breaking designer, artist & entrepreneur who's passionate about paper and handcrafting stationery. I also write, travel, and focus on eco + social good.

Share your differences

