The Last Card

It’s here! It’s the last card to my co-worker at the old 9-to-5. I’ve been at the new internship gig for a little over-a-week at this point, which is exciting, no? Yes!

I’m not going to lie, I had a mini-meltdown last night. It was so bad that my therapist (what NYer doesn’t have a therapist?!) said she was worried about me. But I think the important thing is that it was the realization that things are officially ending and new.  While the new has been taking place for a few days now, it is really happening and I’m still adjusting. For example, today was my last physical therapy appointment since my insurance runs out this Saturday; tomorrow, I won’t have an unlimited subway card. The disintegration of old Sara Stroman begins at the end of the month, which is frightening and electrifying at the same time. There is a lot to be overwhelmed by and yet, I know that even in the tears and feelings of overwhelmed, I am ready for this. My business is ready for this. You can’t have real hunger if you haven’t experienced starvation. So here goes.

Since this blog is very much about me and how running my business is going, you’ll be regularly updated on how I’m doing both professionally and personally, financially and emotionally. Stay tuned.

And lastly, because this is the end of what was Sara Stroman as we’ve all known her, it’s fitting to end with the last card of the bunch to my co-workers at the old 9-to-5. I think it sums up the relationship I have with this person- I call him my BFFI (Best Friend Forever Infinitely) and he is one of the best people I’ve had the opportunity to meet and work with. As I mentioned last week in my fake last card posting, I’m glad he’s the last person to get a card. It really means so much! He also got an Oscar Wilde card and I’m crazy for that Oscar Wilde!

Goodbyes can be rewarding when you’re moving into a better direction and still keeping those that you value the most along for the ride.  This isn’t goodbye, it’s a supportive continuation. 🙂

Published by

s2 stationery & designs

A rule-breaking designer, artist & entrepreneur who's passionate about paper and handcrafting stationery. I also write, travel, and focus on eco + social good.

Share your differences

