Book Making, Original Circa 1999

A few weeks ago, I shared a post about making my first “look book” and realizing midway thru that I had made a book many years ago; 12 years ago to be exact.  The book I am currently working on is much different from the first, but what amazes me about the first book is that without any knowledge whatsoever about binding paper and cardboard, I managed to do it and it has stayed in tact, some stains (I’m not sure from what or when) and a large circle imprint on the front, aside.

I only remembered this book after finding it sitting in a pile of my books at my Mom’s over the Christmas holiday. When I saw it, I stood in awe. I couldn’t believe that I had been inspired that summer day in my 18th/soon-to-be 19th year, to create a book and yet, I did and then never went back to it until now. I also was awed at how little things have changed. I am still addicted to quality paper and ribbon and my craftsmanship can still use a little work, but there is nothing really that shows that I am a novice.

I’m still working on the Look Book and it should be ready to go, fingers crossed by this Friday. When it is done, I’ll post pictures and a little description of it, but until then, here are pictures of my first one.  When I flipped through it, I noted the ribbon binding, the inside gray paper lining and the fact that I cut the edges of each page within raggedly so that it would have the effect of not quite perfect, but old looking. It still takes my breath away.

Published by

s2 stationery & designs

A rule-breaking designer, artist & entrepreneur who's passionate about paper and handcrafting stationery. I also write, travel, and focus on eco + social good.

Share your differences

