January Favorites

Ahhhhh it’s the end of January! How did it happen so fast?

Maybe I was having too much fun? I mean, yeah, I guess I was. January was a BIG month for the S2 of S2 Stationery and Design.  The best part, I made it out of January just fine- a bit broke, yes, but I didn’t die of starvation, or lose my apartment so we’re good!

I mentioned last year that I wanted to spend 2012 reading more and not just business magazines and articles, but books and fiction. I am pleased to say that in January I read two books and started another. Go Sara! I’d say I made a step in the right direction and I’m excited.

Even so, I did manage to read some great business related articles this month and so you know the drill, here they are:

MARKETING:
So this article from Deliver, the USPS’s magazine about direct mail marketing is really about marketing and selling to Millennials, but I think it’s a great way to view marketing in general. Although, I am a generation X member, I also have traits of Millennials and therefore see and shop the same way they do. I base my marketing on how I like to be marketed to, which is also how Millennials like marketing and so maybe we should consider yes, the Baby Boomers, but also shift as business owners and marketers into the realm of openness and no gimmicks and outstanding customer service. All of those would help ANY potential customer regardless of age and generational differences. http://www.delivermagazine.com/2012/01/making-sense-of-the-millennials/

Megan Auman of Designing an MBA posted this article today, January 5th and I love it! I don’t always love her articles, but this one, well this one is a real gem. Good luck for amping up your business in 2012.  http://designinganmba.com/2012/01/04/4-steps-to-your-best-business-year/

BUSINESS:
What is YOUR relationship to your business? I’m not sure what mine is just yet, but I can tell you this, there are days where I feel absolutely overwhelmed by all that I’ve taken on. I’ve evern thought, maybe I should try to be normal and happy with a regular job, but I know that that is a lie. If I don’t try to make it on my own, I’ll never be happy working of anyone. So here I am, glad that I read this article because Damon Gersh offers some great tips and insight into his own experience and relationship with his business and well, I think everyone should give it a read. http://www.nyreport.com/improve_your_relationship_with_your_business

I love this article. I continue to consider my business a start-up and because of that, the points int his article are quite relevant and gave me a fresh blast of air that I needed to review and be aware of. http://www.women2.org/women-starting-tech-companies-brilliance-is-mandatory/

Mayi Carles wins the prize for favorite post of January. No lie! Not only does she give a honest account of first-hand lessons in making money, she gives you tips on how to get better at it AND a free money making planner. No lie! If I could give her a hug, I would. 🙂 Enjoy! http://www.ohmyhandmade.com/2012/contributors/money-making-party-plan-free-planner/

ENVIRONMENT:
This guy, Andy Keller, is seriously my hero! He goes around to cities dressed as the plastic bag monster. How cool is that?! As an eco-warrior, I love that he’s doing this – going around showing the hazard of plastic bag usage and helping educate the masses. Go Andy! http://www.oprah.com/blogs/Can-an-Outfit-of-500-Plastic-Bags-Change-Your-Behavior

PASSION:
I LOVE the truth in this article. Mostly because she is correct – passion, persistence and hunger are great, but you need more. You need the skill. If you are truly passionate, you’ll find the skill and good things will come. http://ht.ly/8ydwz

I’m sticking this under passion because I read it as what is your passion that will leave a legacy and make you happy. Chris, has a way of saying things so straightforwardly and clearly that things just make sense and click. I hope this clicks for you the way it clicked for me. http://chrisguillebeau.com/3×5/1000-days-after-overnight-success/

YOU
Dr. Oz gets a virtual high-five from me! I love this types for renewing your body, mind, and soul in the new year. I don’t make resolutions, but this year, I’ve been focusing on making small goals happen.  By the time, I read this list, I realized that I had successfully started doing a few of them beforehand. Yay! You don’t have to try making all 28 happen, but maybe just one or two. Good luck! http://www.oprah.com/health/Dr-Oz-on-How-to-Renew-Your-Body-Mind-and-Soul

I really appreciate Britney Haas’ perspective on juggling a full time job and a business. I’m not quite as organized as her, but I’ve learned that I need a day that is just for me and that I need to keep things together in order to get things done. The one thing I do know is that I changed the lack of sleep thing this year. I go to bed earlier and wake up earlier to get work done and to feel more accomplished. In the end, her company is a bit larger than S2 Stationery and Design, but I totally get where she’s coming from and I appreciate her honesty. I have considered getting an intern in the past…I may just do it! http://www.women2.org/juggling-ft-job-and-startup/

 

More articles in February. Happy reading!

Published by

s2 stationery & designs

A rule-breaking designer, artist & entrepreneur who's passionate about paper and handcrafting stationery. I also write, travel, and focus on eco + social good.

Share your differences

