The 2012 Vision Board, Unveiled

Last year, I did my first vision board just days into the new year. It was exciting and I realized as I took it down last week on Friday, December 30th, that I had put up pictures that really did impact my life. Everything up there had some meaning and it was great to see how images of pigs and plaid could relate to designs I created and am creating for 2012.

If you look closely, on the left hand side, next to the mixed-tape image is a photo of the 2010 NYC Marathon finisher at the finish line. I clearly knew that I had a goal of crossing that finish line in 2011, too.

Anyhow, As I took down last year’s vision board, I realized that much like me and my life, it was grand. It was so grand, it had taken up more space than I had initially thought or imagined. I’m not complaining at all, but I decided that this year would be different. This year’s board would have more of a contained flow. Now, don’t confuse that with Sara containment at all, no, I will always be Sara, larger than life and all, but what I mean is more focused. I’m hoping to gain more focus and clarity in 2012. The best way to do that is to better decide on what I like, want, and am willing to do.  In other words, every action must have real intention.

After all the pieces has been taken down, the photos you see to the right above has remained in tact, I looked at my almost bare wall and felt a wave of calm at the idea of starting over–starting from scratch. As I started at the white wall, a part of me didn’t want to put a vision board up. I wondered what it would be like to leave the clutter behind me and just have a white wall, but then I stopped myself – I’ve wanted a map on my wall for a while now and so I decided that I could paint the wall with pieces and sources of inspiration; a white wall would be too much for me to bear.

After cutting a much shorter piece of kraft paper as the base of the board, I found the idea of challenging myself by less is more really appealing. As I taped my world map courtesy of Doctors Without Borders and the  “Reasons to Love NY” cover from NY Magazine, I felt happy and ready, finally ready to state what 2012 is about:  This year is all about intention, meaning, and downsizing. By downsizing, I mean in every way possible- physical, emotional, financial, and in my work.

So there you have it and here is the first picture of my 2012 vision board.

 

Let’s get ready to travel the world, make a difference, and shed a few things here and there. Or in the wonderful words of Mary Anne Radmacher: “Live with intention. Walk to the edge. Listen hard. Practice wellness. Play with abandon. Laugh. Choose with no regret. Appreciate your friends. Continue to learn. Do what you love. Live as if this is all there is.”

Happy 2012!

Published by

s2 stationery & designs

A rule-breaking designer, artist & entrepreneur who's passionate about paper and handcrafting stationery. I also write, travel, and focus on eco + social good.

Share your differences

