December Favorites

Ahhh, I am a day late here. Oops! I guess this girl had to get ready for the new year and in doing so let the ball drop. Alas, the end of the world did not strike thanks to my tardiness and so yeah, here you go…my favorite articles in December 2011! This list is naturally incomplete, but these are the juicy bits. Enjoy! Oh and HAPPY NEW YEAR!

MONEY

I have a love/hate relationship when it comes to Dailyworth.com. I love most of the articles, but I hate that they’re in partnerships with companies and send emails that are really offers to try the company’s program. I mean, they may be great, but I want the content. The REAL truth of debt and financing. This post dated November 30th, does just that. It was a great thing for me to read given my decision to shape up (FINALLY!) in my 31st year. Here’s to feeling inspired. http://dailyworth.com/posts/1003-The-Truth-About-My-Debt

Tara Gentile is awesome! That’s really all I can say about her posting on profitability. As I’m gearing up to plan my stationery business future, or rather, I already did it (as you’re reading this the last day of December), this article played a huge role. As a matter of fact, I printed it out and added it to my budget/profit planning folder. http://www.taragentile.com/what-makes-a-tiny-business-profitable/

YOU

So the day after my birthday, I received the following post from Chris Guillebeau’s blog, The Art of Non-Conformity about what to do with your life. I find the message important not just for us as individuals, but as entrepreneurs and business owners. You should always follow your heart over convention. Enjoy! http://chrisguillebeau.com/3×5/what-should-i-do-with-my-life/

PASSION: 

I love Paulo Coelho. If you’ve never read “The Alchemist” I highly recommend that you do. It’s one of the best books I’ve ever read. Which is why this posting, while from earlier in 2011, came to me today, December 5th and rings so true I’m glad I found it, or it found me. It’s about killing our dream. I refuse to kill my dream. Absolutely refuse. How about you? http://paulocoelhoblog.com/2011/02/20/our-dream/

This article is exactly why I’m going to focus on pleasure reading in 2012. Well said, Deena Varshavskaya! http://www.women2.org/stop-reading-startup-advice-learn-by-doing/?utm_source=email

I was reading NY Magazine over the Holiday and came across an article about a bread maker in NYC named Jim Lahey of Sullivan St. Bakery, called The Mad Baker of Sullivan St”. As I read it, I couldn’t help but understand exactly where he’s coming from as a passionate bread craftsman. I love bread probably more than any other food, so I really really loved reading and learning about him, but also his history. I highly recommend it to all those trying to make it on a passion. It’s possible. Jim Lahey is proof. http://nymag.com/restaurants/features/bread-jim-lahey-2011-12/

BUSINESS:

This article is from November, but I found it a month after it was first published. I’m so up-to-date! I realized while reading it that I have used “think-outside-the-box” a few times and while I have used it int he way to think differently, I understand exactly what the guy means when he says you can’t think outside of the box if you don’t know what the box contains. Food for thought indeed. http://blogs.hbr.org/pallotta/2011/11/stop-thinking-outside-the-box.html

That whole idea about balance? Well, I still think it is possible, but I also think it takes work, just like running a business. The one thing I know for sure about work-life-balance is that if you don’t stop to take care of yourself every once in a while everything will stop working. Nobody wants that. http://nyreport.com/articles/82461/embracing_the_unbalanced_life

The following article should probably be under the heading of Entrepreneurship, but I’m too lazy to create it for one article, so it will be housed here, under business. I found Clay Mathile’s comments about entrepreneurs and small business success to be incredibly enlightening and truthful. You can decide what you think, but I think you should read it. http://www.forbes.com/sites/brettnelson/2011/11/09/the-billionaire-business-owners-playbook/

STATIONERY RELATED: 

I need to find the time and a way to go see this exhibit on the USPS! I really enjoyed this piece because of it’s reflective take on the USPS. It’s so important to know and understand your history in order to make steps for the future. I think this is a great piece for entrepreneurs looking for ways to not find themselves in the same pattern as the USPS. Lovely. http://www.theatlantic.com/technology/archive/2011/12/tech-has-saved-the-postal-service-for-200-years-today-it-wont/249946/

Published by

s2 stationery & designs

A rule-breaking designer, artist & entrepreneur who's passionate about paper and handcrafting stationery. I also write, travel, and focus on eco + social good.

Share your differences

