Thanksgiving Week

Last night, I sat on my aunt’s couch and knitted. I also watched part of the “Martha Stewart’s Thanksgiving” special on the Cooking channel. As I sat there, I just kept thinking about how much I LOVE Thanksgiving. I really do.

Okay, who doesn’t really love Thanksgiving? It is the perfect holiday!  If you’re lucky, you are surrounded by people you love, eating delicious food, and creating memories.

In the past, I spent many a Thanksgiving away from home. As a matter of fact, I’ve spent many a Thanksgiving abroad eating non-traditional American food in places like Santiago, Chile, Berlin, Germany, and Prague, Czech Republic.  All of those times have been, well, a blast. I’ve also spent time at friend’s homes with their family, picking up traditions from them. So really, I’ve experienced Thanksgiving at home with my own family on most occasions and as an anthropologist on others.  Needless to say, I’ve enjoyed each and every one.

Which brings me to this Thanksgiving week. In four days it will be Thanksgiving day and I will be celebrating the holiday at my good friend Amy’s.  I will be bringing my favorite cranberry sauce, brussel sprouts and sweet potatoes.

For the first time in a long time, I wish I were going home. I think it’s because I talked to my Mom and she mentioned my aging grandfather who is not doing too well these days.

I’ve always felt a bit sad about my grandparents the older I get. I feel frustrated that I never learned Spanish fluently as a child to engage with them in their native tongue. I get angry that I never learned either of my grandmothers’ histories as an orphan in a nun-ran orphanage in Honduras, or as a young girl hiding out in the French countryside under the Nazi regime. As my last grandparent ages, I am so thankful that he’s still around and scared that his time will come sooner than I want.  And so, there’s that part of me that wants to get on a bus and get to Maryland this week so I can sit with my grandfather and give him lots of hugs. That is the point of the holidays after all, to be thankful for all that we have and all that we have had this year and in years past.

With that in mind, this week I’m dedicating all of my blog posts to Thanksgiving and everything that goes with it. On Thanksgiving itself, not that I expect any of you kind readers, to be online reading my blog, I will put up my Thankful list for the year. Naturally, this will all be very personal, but I hope it inspires all of you to reflect and be kind.

Until tomorrow! Happy four -days-until-Thanksgiving!

Published by

s2 stationery & designs

A rule-breaking designer, artist & entrepreneur who's passionate about paper and handcrafting stationery. I also write, travel, and focus on eco + social good.

Share your differences

