Marathons of Thanks

I was sitting here addressing the latest round of Marathon thank you notes to friends who have made donations to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society when I realized that I have designed and created three sets of marathon thank you notes and have never talked about them. They’ve been secrets between me and my donors. Which isn’t bad, I mean letters are a bit of a secret between the writer and the receiver, but for some reason, I feel quite strongly about sharing them with others.

Originally, I wasn’t planning on sharing the thank you notes for this marathon because I haven’t finished writing them all out and I am still collecting donations, but I’m really excited about them and wanted to share anyway. So to those who have donated and will be donating, I’m sorry for ruining the surprise in advance. For those of you who aren’t donating, now you know what they look like, or as I’d like to call it, what you’re missing out on.

Each card is a bit different from the last, in regards to design, typography and message,  but they have two common factors- 1.they all contain quotes inspired by one of my favorite bands, These United States; and 2. they are all postcard size.  One of them I did not mail as a postcard, I used an envelope, but that does not detract from it’s size; the last two have been straight forward postcards and I’ve loved them.

The exception of all three postcards is the second one with the quote, “Everything Touches Everything.” It is a quote by Jorge Luis Borges,  an Argentine writer and he is therefore properly quoted, but that quote would never have crossed my radar had it not been for These United States.  It was the title of their second album and they have a song by the same name. Whenever I hear that song, I dance and dance and dance.  I love that just as Jesse was inspired by an artist, I have been inspired by artists twice over and have in effect created art. Art begets art.

Rome Marathon Thank You Note - "If the thing that drives you onward is your heart, you must not let that engine die." -These United States, digital printing, hand stamping, heat embossing technique
Paris Marathon Thank You Note-"Everything Touches Everything" - Jorge Luis Borges (These United States inspired), digital printing, hand stamped, glittered.
NYC Marathon Thank You Note - "Good Bones..." -These United States. Digitally printed.

I think it is now safe to say that that feeling of underwhelming I felt for the NYC marathon has passed. Oh, and I’ve gotten my bib number, corral and start time: 63567, Corral 63 with a start time of 10:40 AM. It’s going to be a long, but exciting day! 

Thanks to everyone who sent me energy and love…Marathon of Thanks!

Published by

s2 stationery & designs

A rule-breaking designer, artist & entrepreneur who's passionate about paper and handcrafting stationery. I also write, travel, and focus on eco + social good.

Share your differences

