“Send A Hello” + The United States Postal Service

I believe I mentioned that I’m a lover of mail in a posting last week. The history of my mail obsession stems from my childhood. My great-grandmother also collected stamps and supposedly had an amazing collection of French stamps. I believe an aunt of mine sold them a few years ago, but I like to believe that my stamp collecting ways is a result of family genetics.

My greatest treasure was a stamp (that I swore was going to earn me a huge pot of gold) from the dinosaur collection (valued at $.25-remember when stamps were that cheap?!) with one of the stamps not printed correctly. Only one dinosaur was discolored on the sheet and it was my favorite. It was the stamp that I would proudly show everyone and anyone that managed to flip through my collection of stamps.

My stamp collection has dwindled as I’ve aged, but I’ve always managed to still buy stamps here and there and use, or not use them as I see fit.

Now, in my business, I rely on the services of the United States Postal Service greatly. I have and sometimes (especially if a client) do use Fedex or UPS, but I prefer to use the services provided by the USPS.  Over all, I’ve been pleased. I have absolutely no complaints about the service I have received.

Okay. Maybe I get exasperated when I go and the physical service is bad. For example, walking into a post office to  find the line 20 people long and see only two or three employees working with incredibly difficult customers, while two or more employees close up their registers. That is when I start to roll my eyes and greatly dislike the USPS. It is also when I try to remember why I use them in the first place.

Anyhow, since I am over all happy with the postal service and their business helps me to continue my business, I was pleased when my visit yesterday (to mail an order) ended with me making a purchase that made me smile so bright, you would have thought that I was a kid in a candy store, or a five-year-old princess-loving girl who was taken to Disney World for the first time. Which is a great way to tie in why I was so happy…because thanks to Disney the USPS released on August 19th the first set of Pixar character “forever” stamps characters. YAY!

Now, anyone,who is anyone who knows me, knows that I LOVE Pixar. I mean, I love some Disney movies as well, but I love Disney for what it once was, not what it now is (child-blood sucking leeches trying to poison children’s minds). Yet, Pixar, always stands out.  Pixar provides amazing quality films, characters that you remember and grow with and stories that are so relevant to life and growth lessons.

I know that I have written previously about the film, “Ratatouille”, which happens to be my favorite of them all, but tied behind it are “Monsters, Inc” and “Up”.  All of the “Toy Story” films are up there as well, but I have been known to watch “Ratatouille” and “Monsters, Inc” at least once a month.  Moments when I feel like S2 Stationery and Design is not moving as quickly as I’d want to, or I feel unmotivated, I find myself watching those two movies.

“Finding Nemo” and “Wall-E” are two of my other favorites, but for different reasons. Finding Nemo because of the richness of the story; the characters-the sharks! Dory! Nemo! Nigel! Crush and Squirt! Darla! (I know I’m missing some others); and the way the ocean, for the first time on film, looked so real you were swimming with Dory and Marlin as they swam along finding adventure and leaving self-barriers. As I typed that sentence, I realized how many lessons that movie has for those living in fear. Amazing! “Wall-E” I love for it’s environmental message, but also it’s message of love and the importance love has on our life perspectives. It’s a powerful movie if you truly pay attention to the message.

I’m rambling here for what I had planned to be a short post, but I do want to share one more point – several weeks ago, I found myself watching “Toy Story 3” and ended up in tears at the end. This doesn’t include all of the jumping around and talking to the screen that went on as the movie played. My 9 year old cousin was awed at my reaction to the film (this is normal-when I love a movie, I get into it completely and it’s quite an overwhelming experience).  When the film ended, I wiped away my tears, and thought of all the toys I had left over the years. I also thought about the importance of how we treat things as we grow apart, or distance shifts life, homes, jobs and relationships with family and friends. A part of me also cried because “Toy Story” came out in 1995, when I was in high school. It revolutionized the world of animation and also the way we interact with animation.  16 years later, I’m an adult and yet, I can still remember how I felt watching “Toy Story” and more importantly, love Woody, Buzz and all the rest of them so much, even now. (If I ever have kids, they are going to love having me as a mom-we’re going to watch all of these movies and laugh, cry and play over and over again.)

Returning to yesterday, as I mailed my package- I bought a set of stamps called “Send a Hello”  which looks like this:

“This pane of 20 stamps includes five different designs featuring Pixar characters: Lightning McQueen and Mater from Cars(2006); Remy the rat and Linguini from Ratatouille (2007); Buzz Lightyear and two of the green, three-eyed aliens from Toy Story(1995); Carl Fredricksen and Dug from Up (2009); and the robot WALL*E from WALL*E (2008).

The phrase “send a…HELLO” appears in the header above the stamps.

The back of the stamp pane shows nine blue-pencil sketches of characters from the movies featured on these stamps. Carl from Up takes the place of the letter “L” in the phrase “send a…HELLO.” In the lower half of the verso, text discusses the characters on these stamps and exhorts readers to “send a hello” to family and friends.

The U.S. Postal Service logo appears in the lower left corner of the verso. The Disney*Pixar logo appears opposite it in the lower right corner.

The Send a Hello stamps are being issued as Forever® stamps. Forever stamps are always equal in value to the current First-Class Mail one-ounce rate.” (http://www.beyondtheperf.com/stamp-releases/send-hello)

Today,  the second thing that made me happy was found while viewing the 2012 stamp preview on the USA Philatelic website– the next round of Pixar stamps, this time called “Send a Smile”:

Send a Smile will be the second set of stamps featuring characters from Disney•Pixar movies. Watch for a new story about the first set, Send a Hello, online next week! For more animated favorites, see The Art of Disney slideshow featuring 20 stamps issued from 2004 to 2008 that express the themes of friendship, celebration, romance, magic, and imagination. 

Disney•Pixar’s unique characters remind us of our fears and foibles, challenges and victories, and make us laugh while doing so. In 2012, their familiar faces will lift our spirits once again on stamps that remind us it’s always a good time to “Send a Smile.”

The Send a Smile stamps feature beloved characters from five Disney•Pixar movies: A Bug’s Life (1998), Toy Story 2 (1999), Monsters, Inc. (2001), Finding Nemo (2003), and The Incredibles (2004).

This stamp pane is a follow-up to Send a Hello, a 2011 issuance featuring Disney•Pixar characters that grew out of The Art of Disney series issued from 2004 through 2008.

Since 1995, Pixar Animation Studios has won 29 Academy Awards. Responsible for almost every major breakthrough in computer animation, the company continues to reset the bar in technology with every film.

The Send a Smile stamps are being issued as Forever® stamps. Forever stamps are always equal in value to the current First-Class Mail one-ounce rate.

Disney/Pixar Materials: © Disney•Pixar

I don’t know if/when I’ll use my set of stamps, but I have a feeling that I may have to buy a few more sheets to use and spread cheer, smiles and say hello until both they and I run out.

On that note, I’m going to go-the earth just shook in NYC!  Remember, if the world is coming to an end (I don’t think it really is), you should work on sending love and spreading cheer.

Published by

s2 stationery & designs

A rule-breaking designer, artist & entrepreneur who's passionate about paper and handcrafting stationery. I also write, travel, and focus on eco + social good.

Share your differences

