July Favorites

July was a bit light on reading for me. Doesn’t mean I didn’t read,  instead I sat around reading Harry Potter. I didn’t get nearly as far into the series as I had hoped, but it was nice to just read a book for fun instead of reading articles and articles for blogging. Needless to say, I enjoy reading all of the articles that I do not just for sharing purposes, but also for myself.  As you have probably noticed,  I only share the articles that deeply resonate with me and my business at the time, which is why some months this posting has a lot of articles and like this month has not so much.  Articles are below. Enjoy!

BUSINESS:

I really enjoyed this brief and to-the-point posting in today’s (7/12/11) e-blast. http://dailyworth.com/posts/809-CEO-101-for-Business-Owners. I call myself CEO of S2 Stationery and Design because I am. I am the one that makes decisions and makes things happen, but at the same time I’ve learned to use printers, ask friends for help with writing web content and to develop my website. It’s empowering not just for them, but also for myself because I am learning to delegate and to inspire people with the work they are doing – which is the real work in being a leader.

This posting comes from the Mogul Mom blog and it’s great! I think the steps she suggests are important and worth doing for every small business owner. Good luck!  http://www.themogulmom.com/2011/07/grow-your-business/

DESIGN:

This is amazing and genius and awesome all at the same time! I love Kyle and I hope that I get to take lessons from her truck! I also love letterpress and have been dying to learn it so needless to say this has me excited!  http://www.fastcodesign.com/1664559/moveable-type-offers-letterpress-classes-out-of-a-truck

MONEY:

Mogul Mom strikes again! This article about pricing mistakes really hit home for me because when I started S2 Stationery and Design, I offered so many discounts. Actually, they weren’t discounts per se because the client didn’t know about them, but I knew about them. I figured that since I was new to the game, I had to start out cheap and increase my prices as I continued on. Boy was I wrong. I’m so much better off where I am now – a place that doesn’t budge on pricing one bit. It’s a great feeling to finally acknowledge my worth and the worth of my product. Read here: the http://www.themogulmom.com/2011/07/dont-discount-your-services/

Another great article from Mogul Mom’s blog, this time about superwoman having help with her children. Now, I don’t have children, but I know that I have suffered from thinking that I have to do everything. I have since learned that I can ask for help and that the help can be awesome and help me get perspective on where I want to go with designs and business plans. I highly recommend, whether you are, or aren’t a mom to consider asking for help; you never know where it will help get  http://www.themogulmom.com/2011/07/hire-help-with-kids

SUCCESS:

I think that I should have a section called “leadership”, but for now, I’m including this review of a book about leadership under success. I’ve been having a lot of conversations about leadership and what it takes to be a leader. It is my opinion that leaders are born and then developed over time.  Few people are leaders. Yes, they may be able to manage, but they are not leaders. It’s frustrating to those seeking a leader and for those that are leaders, but are stifled by the people who aren’t.  I don’t mean to be so negative. I also believe that people can learn to be better managers and adopt, with patience and practice, select skills that leaders innately have.  With that said, read the review of “The Leader’s Checklist” by John Baldoni and then check out the book. I am!  http://smartblogs.com/leadership/2011/07/18/review-the-leader%E2%80%99s-checklist-15-mission-critical-principles/

Here comes Megan! Of course my list of reading wouldn’t be complete without an article by Megan Auman of Craft MBA. Her article this time is about bare minimum and what it says about your business. Now, I am a minimalist. Or I think I am. Actually, that’s not true. I completely believe in deconstructing my life and rising from the ashes that this leaves. Much like the phoenix, I like to see where I can go after I remove odds, ends, scraps and pieces of my past life that hold no value.  With that said, if you’re a minimalist and it shows as part of your business mission and goal, then go for it, don’t overstate when it isn’t needed. Really, you should be true to yourself and your goal for your business – if that means you minimize then, your customer(s) will get that. If you’re only minimizing because of cost, you need to reevaluate and see what it can be doing to your brand, product and overall business. http://www.craftmba.com/2011/07/18/bare-minimu/

Michelle Ward is amazing! This article was written back in May and I just read it in early July, but it holds true for every individual looking to follow their dreams. http://www.prettyyoungprofessional.com/advance/5-ways-to-pursue-an-unconventional-career.html?utm_source=When+I+Grow+Up%3A+The+Newsletter&utm_campaign=f526af58fb-5_ways_6_29_2011&utm_medium=email

Stay tuned for August’s list of articles. Should be good!  Hope you all had an awesome month of July!

Published by

s2 stationery & designs

A rule-breaking designer, artist & entrepreneur who's passionate about paper and handcrafting stationery. I also write, travel, and focus on eco + social good.

Share your differences

