Wedding Invitations and a Wedding

This posting is a feature on…Me and a project that recently wrapped up last weekend! I know, I know. Why would a blogger feature herself, or her own work?

To be quite honest, it is so that you, my fine friends and readers, can see my work (in case you haven’t already seen it) and know a bit more about my work and not just my voice on other issues relating to starting a business/ other artists/whatever floats my boat on that particular day.

So,  back to my creativity here…last Sunday, February 20th,  I attended a wedding. My first wedding of 2011! It was gorgeous and fun, two of the most important elements of a wedding aside from the bride and groom. With this wedding, you just knew that it was going to be beautiful and fun because the bride and groom are two amazingly gorgeous, generous and kind people. Their wedding was full of love and happiness and I was honored to be part of that and to feel that energy. (There is nothing quite like the energy of a wedding!)

Leading up to the wedding, I was excited because I was a bit of an insider–I designed and assembled the wedding invitations, rehearsal dinner invitations, tags for the hotel goodie bags and small cards to go with the bridesmaids gifts. Being at the wedding allowed me to see how everything fit together. What started as a conversation about a winter wedding and bridesmaid dress and flower colors turned into a gorgeous affair!

The ceremony was held in a church on Staten Island and the reception was held at The Estate at Florentine Gardens in Rivervale, New Jersey.  The ceremony was beautiful because you could tell that Diana and Mike had taken considerable amount of care in selecting the readings, the gospel and just in preparing flowers to honor their loved ones no longer with us.

The reception was where it all came together for me. Where as I could see how the invitations were reflected in the  flowers  and the dresses of the bride and bridesmaids at the ceremony, I saw it completely at the reception.  Each table had a centerpiece that was just out of this world gorgeous! They were tall and wintry. There were flowers in the same color as her bouquets at the base with large branches coming from the top. Additionally, there were crystal tear drops. I know that I am not doing nearly enough to describe the beauty of these center pieces, but they really helped me see the big picture of Diana’s vision for her wedding. It made me even more honored and flattered to be part of it and a BIG part of it at that.

Below are a few pictures of my designs and work for the wedding (rehearsal dinner invite, hotel goody bag tags, and the invitation themselves). In the words of Diana via text message the day after the wedding, ” we wanted to quickly thank you for creating our invitations and all your hep with our personal touches with the cards and the hotel tags.”

When I started S2 Stationery and Design, I had absolutely no intention of doing anything wedding for the first two years and yet now, I have two weddings under my belt and another one that I’m working on samples for. Amazing, eh? I think so, too. Sometimes you can’t fight certain paths. The other thing that I have learned is that I love the entire creative process of working with another person to make an event special for them. I don’t think I’d ever be able to be a party planner, but knowing that customers (and friends) are happy with my work means more than I ever thought possible.

Here’s to the marriage of Diana and Mike (one of my favorite photos of them and their love below), my creativity and the future of S2 in weddings!

Published by

s2 stationery & designs

A rule-breaking designer, artist & entrepreneur who's passionate about paper and handcrafting stationery. I also write, travel, and focus on eco + social good.

Share your differences

