A Love Quote

“Love is everything it’s cracked up to be … It really is worth fighting for, being brave for, risking everything for.” — Erica Jong

I really love that quote for its layers. You could easily read it as love between two people, you know, the “soul mate” love, but I prefer to read it as love in general.  I couldn’t agree more that love is worth fighting for, being brave for and risking everything for.  Loving is the single most important thing we do. Naturally, it begins with self-love, but through that love, so much love is possible.  Because of that love, people change the world. Some do so in great ways like Mother Theresa and Gandhi. Others, do so in smaller ways just with the people whose lives they touch on a daily basis.  No matter what, every small act shows love and requires a risk.

When I think back to the biggest moments in my life (I have too many great moments to count), they all were based on a risk and a belief that things would work out and that my passion (aka love) of/for whatever it was I was doing would move me forward. It’s the reason behind my first marathon (not sure what the other two marathons reasons were), my decision to move to NYC, expressing my feelings to certain gentlemen, to travel after my father passed away, and  finally my decision to pursue my stationery business.

I have recently decided to take a risk in a few short months. A big one.  From a place of immense love and passion.  If you haven’t already gathered, I like paper. I LOVE paper. So much so that I make stationery and invitations out of paper. My room is stuffed with paper and the goal is to make lots of things out of this paper.  This passionate and full of love risk will not only take me many miles and a few hours ahead, but will also teach me a skill that will make my paper loving/stationery and invitation making self a brighter and better person.

In an attempt to make my risk even more meaningful to the world, I am in talks with a friend who is a teacher to use her classroom as a program launching pilot. The hope is that I will be able to create a traveling pen-pal program with her class and that we will together, not just teach about exploration, but the art of writing letters and using language. Regardless of how quickly technology develops, communication is essential. If this is successful, then maybe I can add another classroom in 2012 and continue from there. Who knows what the endless opportunities this could bring, but not for me, or the other travelers that I would have to get to help me make this a bigger program, but the children who will ultimately benefit.

Every time I walk into the paper store I feel love. Every time  I talk to a client and they are happy, I feel love. Every time someone tells me I’m awesome for following my dream or that they truly respect my decision to turn something down or remain focused on my dream, I feel love.  It’s in those moments that I know as Erica Jong said, it’s everything it’s cracked up to be.

I’m getting ahead of myself a bit here, and I’ve definitely transitioned away from the concept of love, but then again, love takes shape in many, many ways, but as my date to buy a ticket to the other side of the world gets closer and the anticipation of being able to say ciao to the work-life I’m currently living gets greater, the more I realize that sometimes you have to risk everything to be truly happy and to truly experience a sense of peace and yes, even love.

Three days until Valentine’s Day!

Published by

s2 stationery & designs

A rule-breaking designer, artist & entrepreneur who's passionate about paper and handcrafting stationery. I also write, travel, and focus on eco + social good.

Share your differences

