Quotes from Love Letters, A La Oprah

We are days, five to be exact, from Valentine’s Day!  Over the next five days, I’ll be sharing tidbits of love on the blog. On actual Valentine’s Day, I’ll share my favorite Valentine’s Day thing.

I know that traditionally single people are supposed to dread Valentine’s Day, but I don’t. I adore the holiday! I always have! I think it’s a great way to spread love. After all that’s what I’m about–spreading genuine love. That’s why I’ve decided to follow my passion and create stationery–to spread love.

Anyway, today’s inspiration comes from the February issue of O Magazine.  It is a list of  favorite love quotes from love letters picked by O Magazine staff. I have to say, especially since I don’t personally have a favorite love letter, nor have I done research on love letters, that I appreciated this gem of a column.  As someone who is hell-bent on bringing back thoughtful and articulate language and letter writing, I love when I find something that inspires and guides me. This article did that and I hope it does the same to you, or at the very least gives you a little peep in your step, or maybe just even a little smile.

While I don’t know much about the history of love letters (you better believe I’m working on it though!), I am a hopeless romantic, who knows that love is the best thing we do. This allows me to read horribly written romance novels, watch romantic comedies, love almost every romantic Victoria-era novel,  and find things like over-the-top marriage proposals awe-inspiring. Don’t even go to the stereotype that it’s because I’m a female and females are genetically wired to be this way because it’s not true.  There are plenty of women out there that aren’t like this. Having said that, I  think (especially as I get older) that “Persuasion,” the fabulous book by Jane Austen may just be one of the best and most endearing love stories of all time and therefore equates to a love letter of many pages.  While I enjoy the flow of the story, my favorite part is the letter that Captain Wentworth writes to Anne at the end. Maybe I do have a favorite love letter after all…YAY!  If you haven’t read this book, please do yourself a favor and read it NOW!

Having said that (drum roll) my favorite quote from the O Magazine selected love quotes is:

“I dust [your photo] carefully every morning, for to do so gives me the pleasant feeling that I’m caressing you as in the old days. I even touch your nose with mine to recapture the electric current that used to flush through my blood whenever I did so.” —Nelson Mandela to his wife, Winnie

There is just something so touching about the simple gesture that Mr. Mandela describes. It’s something that I think we all long for and crave through the course of love.  All of the quotes selected are amazingly heartfelt, deep, spiritual and vulnerable. After all, they speak of a love that is consuming in such a manner that they can freely express themselves. That is what love is about, after all, the ability to be free and share with the one you love.

I have to add this because of the language geek inside of me, but I also really enjoy how each of these letters shows great intelligence, wit and a manipulative mastery of language. The structure of each sentence helps melt the heart instantly; a skill that is lost to many of us.

If you have a favorite love quote from a love letter that you want to share, please do! I want to know. When I look back  It may come in handy somewhere down the line in my business.   Any quotes that are shared will be in a blog on the 14th!

Published by

s2 stationery & designs

A rule-breaking designer, artist & entrepreneur who's passionate about paper and handcrafting stationery. I also write, travel, and focus on eco + social good.

Share your differences

