The Right Profile Picture

I’m on a search. For a profile picture that captures me working, but really marks me the individual. Part of me thinks that I may need a sunny day for this, or a professional photographer. But, I don’t want to hire someone to make me look pretty at something that while it turns out pretty in the end, isn’t always pretty.

I’ve had for a while an idea-find someone to take pictures of me while cutting. I mean, after all, I’m a girl wielding scissors pretty much everyday. Just for the record, I carry three pairs of scissors in my “design” bag. And so yesterday was the first try out. I hated the space, the fact that I was wearing gray and that I feel like these pictures make me look much larger than I feel (sigh-sorry to have my fat girl personal moment in this space), but I have decided that these are the better pictures and so I’m putting them out there to think about and maybe get some feedback? –if you’re out there, reading this somewhere.

I know that over the next couple of weeks, months, years, this photo will change. I really think the photo should be a representation of the artist/person in the moment and not a few years ago. It should be now. It should be relevant. It should show you. The great thing about this picture, is that I was at the time working on an order that is going out today, so these aren’t props. I was actually cutting out circles. Yay!

Published by

s2 stationery & designs

A rule-breaking designer, artist & entrepreneur who's passionate about paper and handcrafting stationery. I also write, travel, and focus on eco + social good.

Share your differences

