Last year, I received a card made on paper from elephant poop with a very well-known Manifesto by the company Holstee. That manifesto is one of my favorites and that card that my good friend, E, sent me is carried around with me everywhere I go because of the impact of those simple thoughts.

At the time, I was also busy with S2 Stationery and Design and trying to get over the hatred of my job. They were both heavy weights on my mind- the hope of the future and the shame and negativity of hating a job that I felt I should be grateful.

It was also around this time, that I contacted one of my best friends and told her, “we have to put together a manifesto!” Not something like Holstee’s, or even Chris Guillebeau’s, but something that is Sara, that embodies everything specific to Sara; that shows what the people who love Sara, “love about Sara”.

After many, many months of inaction, but thinking about putting together this manifesto, or as Merriam Webster defines it: a written statement declaring publicly the intentions, motives, or views of its issuer, I have finally pieced mine together.

It is hardly 100% and I will probably go back and update it a few times, but as I sit in the month of August stewing- a bit scared, totally unsure, excited and with anxiety (that may have induced three days of headaches and a full on migraine yesterday, with symptoms like a fever, but didn’t really result in a burning forehead, just tons of dizziness, a lack of hunger, and burning eyes)- I realized that now is the time.

Below is the Sara Manifesto. It is a compilation of principles and things I practice, or try to practice, or sometimes have to remember to practice. While not every day is rainbows and unicorns, days when I focus on these small, simple ideas, are days where rainbows and unicorns seem all the more possible.

When I update it next, I’ll let you know. I’m already thinking about how I forgot to add make things with your hands and dream. But that’s me, the perfectionist, coming out to say, “Sara are you sure you want to release this into the world now?” But I am. I so am. And I’m all kinds of excited.