I mailed out a package Monday afternoon.  It was my first Etsy order in a few weeks and I took to the post office with gusto!

Many of you may be scratching your head wondering why I would enjoy going to the post office.

Many of you might even not be surprised, after all, I’ve written several posts on why we need to help the post office and how I wanted to make a plan to help them significantly. But I haven’t. Tsk, on me!

Anyhow, I’ve recently been thinking about shipping and what would happen if I grew my business so large that shipping would require labels and printers and a shipping program through paypal or Etsy that would just allow me to stick that label on and keep on moving?

I mean sure, who enjoys going to the post office? It requires lines and filling out forms and often times, I don’t have the right box (I especially don’t have the right boxes now, since I’ve moved).

But Monday, as I walked the small hike to the post office from my office in DUMBO, I was happy to be there. Happy to know that I took the extra five or ten minutes to write a thank you note, walk to the post office and then fill out the paper work, write out the envelope, I mailed it in, and ship it off.  AND I felt more connected to my product, my customer, and my extremely helpful postal worker.

Now, again, I realize that this was one order. For sellers who have 15 orders a day, it might not be worth it, but for me, I think it will always be worth it. I love nothing more than getting a package that has someone’s handwriting all over it instead of a label. It’s the difference of a real card versus an e-card. Both fine gestures, but one says I care more than the other.

It may be the writer in me, or more so the romantic in me, but the point remains that as a writer, as a lover for writing and stationery, I have to keep writing out my labels and my boxes and my messages to customers. Because of that, the post office will always see my face on shipping days, and I will always be a customer to the United States Post Office.

