Readers,

Where are all my business posts? Where are all my stationery and communications posts? What is happening to S2?!

Calm down little ones, or rather S2. All is fine. Things are mostly at peace in our little, new world.

I mentioned sharing more information with you about my current changes today and with 30 minutes left today, I need to get this post share ready immediately.

For those of you who don’t know, I left my old 9-to-5 for a new 9-to-5 on a full-time, internship basis. Yep. I gave Corporate America the middle finger and decided to go down the road of quasi-corporate-entrepreneur-focused-small-but-large-company business model. Today, is my fourth day and I’ve been busy learning from my coworkers, trying to adjust to the hours of whenever-to-whenever (although it is customary to get in by 10), figuring out my place in this little world, and eating.

Yes, eating, I said.

Because I know the suspense is killing you, I’m pleased to announce that I am an intern in the marketing department of Etsy located in DUMBO, Brooklyn.

In what I can only call luck and fate giving me a thumbs up, I interviewed for the position on Valentine’s Day and was offered the job on March 1st. It took barely no time for me to make the decision and the amount of support I received from loved ones, friends, and family (my mom of course), I knew it was a step in the right direction.

My commute has been fairly easy and because of all the running around and my unlimited subway card (that I may not have again after this month) I’ve been doing I’ve relied on the train. I’m planning to start walking to and from in April and seeing how long I can sustain it.

More importantly, I’m excited for what I think will be happier days ahead, at least for the next six months. There are, of course, many, many risks involved in my decision – I am only an intern-I don’t have health insurance unless I accept COBRA and I did take a pay cut.

BUT if this new position inspires me to build my business more because I’m tired of eating peanut butter and jelly sandwiches and I need to pay bills, well, then, I say that’s a step in the right direction!

You should also know that in the pipelines are four possibilities:

1. I get to work at Etsy full-time after six months, aka, they hire me because I prove that I’m just loveable and worthy of being here all the time for longer than six months, or;

2. I get into grad school (I find out at the end of the month), the internship ends and I segue into grad school and keep on keeping on, or;

3. I get into grad school AND get a long-tern job offer from Etsy, or;

4. NOTHING pans out and I buy that sweet little ticket to Japan and study papermaking.

As you can see, it is indeed quite a new world that I’ve stepped into and it’s what the doctor (or at least what I) ordered.

I would be lying if I told you I’m not twinged every now and then with fear, but each time I feel the fear, I remember how my first week has gone. How I’m in a much more creative environment, comfortable I feel, I’ve talked about not liking The Hunger Games with one coworker this afternoon, or how last night was the talent show and how I was drunk, ate hot dogs and enjoyed seeing all of my new co-workers special talents – singing, juggling, and dancing. I know not every day is full of rainbows and puppies and leprechauns, but right now, I feel good and happy and from making a decision to be happy, I am moving places.

Or  in the words of Gwyneth Paltrow in “Shakespeare in Love” (one of my favorite movies!), “It’s a new world!”.  Below are pictures of my view when I leave my office to the right and when I sit on the rocks and look across the river to what is known as the island of Manhattan.  Beautiful!

 

Next week it’ll be back to the grind. Photos of new projects, my Woman entrepreneur of the month (a tad late), and my favorite articles. Stay tuned!

Oh, and thank you for your patience. You guys are the best!

